Are you going to BarCamp Galway ?

Well… are you ? I’m going to be there and here’s why…

  1. It’s in Galway city – the most beautiful city in Ireland (and that’s coming from a Jackeen who lives in Cork).
  2. There are going to be some interesting talks. For example: Sean McGrath is going to be talking about Mashups. No pressure Sean. No pressure.
  3. It will be a great chance to meet and chat with like-minded and not-so-like-minded people.
  4. It’s FREE.

… but the number one reason you should go to Barcamp Galway ? Well let me put it this way …
I’m what you’d call a bit of an introvert. Frankly the idea of standing up in front of a room full of people and talking for half an hour terrifies me. But that’s exactly what I did at the first BarCamp in Cork last year. I gave a talk titled “Javascript Mindbombs”. It turned out to be easier and much more enjoyable than I imagined. I talked about some really great javascript libraries and the people behind them – people I hadn’t heard about and wouldn’t have known about but for some digging. Best of all – after the talk – I got to chat with some people who were interested in the same stuff.

If you’re an introvert or terrified of speaking in public, Barcamp is a great opportunity to step out of your comfort zone and exercise your inner extrovert. The best thing about BarCamp is it’s spirit of active participation. BarCamp does have it’s fair share of Technology talks but to be honest – anything goes. You can talk about anything.

At the next barcamp in Galway I’ll be giving a talk again (not the same talk – I promise) and as with all other BarCamp’s I’ve been to – I’ll be wishing there were 72 hours in the day so I don’t miss any talks.

See you there.

One thought on “Are you going to BarCamp Galway ?

  1. John Breslin says:

    Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

