PXN8 is now Pixenate™

One piece of advice I wish I could have given back at the barcamp web startup panel was …

Don’t pick a stupid web2.0 sounding name for your product or service because in a year’s time you’re going to regret it. Use Vowels – they’re there for a reason.

PXN8.com has now finally morphed into Pixenate.com – I’m not sure what the implications of this are from a page-rank point of view.
PXN8.com has a pagerank of 6. I’m hoping a straightforward mod-rewrite entry will let me keep that ranking on pixenate.com. Here’s the relevant .htaccess entries…

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.pxn8\.com$ 
RewriteRule (.*) http://pixenate.com/$1 [R=Permanent]

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^pxn8\.com$ 
RewriteRule (.*) http://pixenate.com/$1 [R=Permanent]

So many people have had problems with the PXN8 name and a domain squatter has taken advantage of the confusion, so from now on it’s Pixenate (pix-en-ate) and pixenate only. Wish I knew back in early 2005 what I know now.

5 thoughts on “PXN8 is now Pixenate™

  1. Dammit, I was aiming to rebrand as LDDRVCE.

    Seriously tho, smart move Walter – I’ve always liked the spoken version of the name.

  2. sxoop says:

    Loud Divorce ? I’m confused. :-)

  3. Aidan Finn says:

    I definitely prefer names that are real words.

    Doing a permanent redirect (301) like above should result in your pagrank slowly leeching from one domain to the other. I did it about a year ago with a PR 5 domain. The new domain went to 4 fairly quickly then took a while to get to 5. The old domain dropped to 3 fairly quickly and then 2 then 0 over the next few months.

  4. Lal says:

    Hard 2 get a ‘name’ that makes sense and can still find available domain.

    Do u think your domain name should always match your product name or company name or be brand related?

  5. walter says:

    Brendan,
    I guess it makes sense (to me at least) to have the domain name match (as closely as possible) the product/brand name.

Leave a Reply

