Whither PythonMagick ?

I want to give Python a chance. I really do.
But things don’t look too promising on the ImageMagick front.
I downloaded the PythonMagick tarball from ImageMagick.org and unzipped it.
Inside I find a Sconstruct file and a lot of source files – no README.
Hmmph – methinks I’ll have to download and install SCONS to build PythonMagick.
That’s a problem because if I have to download and install SCONS to build PythonMagick then so will our customers (if we ever migrate from Perl to Python – not saying this will happen anytime soon – we’re just kicking tyres). That might be just too much work for customers.
So I dig a little deeper – see what googling “PythonMagick” throws up…

  1. http://www.python.net/crew/zack/pymagick/ is a link to a page displaying “Object not found”
  2. http://wiki.python.org/moin/PythonMagick is a page telling me that PythonMagick is a Python Library that uses ImageMagick. I know that. No other useful information here.
  3. http://www.procoders.net/pythonmagick is a “404 Not Found”
  4. http://wiki.wxpython.org/index.cgi/PythonMagick Ah ! Finally. This page tells me the following …

    At this time PythonMagick only has an installer for Windows. A tar file also exists but there are difficulties getting it to compile on Linux. My understanding is that its because of some boost.python complexity…

  5. http://news.hping.org/comp.lang.python.archive/30907.html A thread on comp.lang.python leads to the conclusion that PythonMagick is no longer active.

If PXN8 was a destination site and not a white-label product, then it might be worth exploring PythonMagick further. Given that PXN8 must be installable on Windows, and Linux/FreeBSD with a minimum of hassle, I don’t think a Python/PythonMagick combination is a good choice for our customers. If you have experience with PythonMagick I’d love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “Whither PythonMagick ?

  1. Emmet says:

    I’ve never used PythonMagick, so I can’t help you there, but have you looked into PIL? It’s probably more commonly used than PM so you should have better luck finding documentation online for it.

  2. sxoop says:

    Emmet,

    PIL looks very interesting. I’ll definitely take a closer look.
    Thanks.

    Walter

  3. GDU says:

    PIL was useless in my case since PIL is unable to open compressed tiff unless you recompile with patch that can be found on googling

  4. blah says:

    Well, someone seems to be developing PythonMagick, as 0.9.1 was released a couple of months ago. Seems to be easy to segfault, very thin wrapper around the C++ classes. Little documentation, but I suspect in part because the wrapping is so thin that a lot of the C++ docs are nearly directly applicable.

    ChangeLog:
    2009-05-13 0.9.1 Dan Kluev
    http://www.imagemagick.org/download/python/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

